All RCPs in the State of California who wish to maintain an active license are required to complete 15 hours of continuing education (CE) for license renewal with the exception of your first renewal, where you are required to complete 9 hours.
NOTE: For licenses that expire on or after July 31, 2017, the number of CEs required for renewal will increase from 15 to 30 and from 9 to 15 for first time renewals.
Additionally, you are required to complete a Board-approved Law and Professional Ethics course as part of your CE during every other renewal cycle. The Law and Professional Ethics course can be taken through the AARC or CSRC. Successful completion of the course will constitute 3 CE hours towards the existing requirement. To determine if ethics is due as part of your license renewal, you can check the Board's License Search system.
A licensee is not required to submit documentation of their CE hours. He/she is only required to be provide documentation if requested by the Board as part of a random CE audit. Please keep copies of your CE certificates for 2 renewal cycles (4 years) for auditing purposes.
Please be advised, that each course must be provided or approved by one of the entities listed below. Further, you must also determine if the course is relevant to the scope of respiratory care and whether it is related to clinical or non-clinical practice; at least two-thirds of the required CE must be directly related to clinical practice.
The Respiratory Care Board (Board) of California does not have a formal continuing education (CE) provider approval process in place. Rather, the Board has established via regulation, the criteria for acceptability of courses.
- Title 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations, Division 13.6. Respiratory Care Board of California
If you have additional questions or need clarification regarding continuing education, you may call the Board's office toll free at (866) 375-0386 or send your question by email to email@example.com.