Manage Your License

Address Change

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations section 1399.304, each person holding a license shall give the Board written notice of an address change within 14 days of the change. You can update your address of record with the Board online using BreEZe Online Services.

Name Change

You may submit name changes to the Board online through BreEZe Online Services. To process a name change, you are required to submit photocopies of one of the following documents as proof of the change:

  • Marriage Certificate
  • Dissolution of Marriage
  • Certified Court Order

If you require a replacement license as a result of a name change, please refer to the Duplicate Pocket License section for instructions.

Renewal Deficiency

Failure to complete your license renewal completely will result in a hold being placed on your license renewal. In order to continue with processing your renewal, you must complete all highlighted sections on the Notice of Renewal Deficiency form and return it to the Board in one of the following ways:

  • Fax: (916) 263-7311
  • Email: rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov
  • Mail: 3750 Rosin Court, Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95834

Once the completed form is received and you have satisfied all renewal requirements, your license will be renewed and your updated pocket card will be mailed to you within 2-3 business days.

Duplicate Pocket License or Wall Certificate

If you would like to purchase a duplicate pocket card or wall certificate, you may do so online through BreEZe Online Services. Please note that there is a $25 charge each for both a pocket license and wall certificate. Here is a Step-by-Step User Guide for requesting a duplicate pocket card or wall certificate.

Inactive-to-Active Status

If your license is currently inactive and you would like to update it to active status, you must submit the Request for Active Status form and documentation showing completion of the required CE units. You may submit the required form and CE certificates to the Board by:

  • Fax: (916) 263-7311
  • Email: rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov
  • Mail: 3750 Rosin Court, Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95834

Request for Retired Status

A licensee may request that his or her license be placed in a retired status at any time, provided the license has not been canceled, and any outstanding fines, cost recovery, and monthly probation monitoring costs are paid in full. An individual with retired status is not subject to any renewal or reporting requirements. Once an individual is placed on retired status, all privileges to practice respiratory care are permanently rescinded. If an individual practices with a retired license, the individual will be subject to discipline as prescribed by this chapter for the unlicensed practice of respiratory care.

To place your license in a retired status, you must complete the Request for Retired Status form and return it to the Board in one of the following ways:

  • Fax: (916) 263-7311
  • Email: rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov
  • Mail: 3750 Rosin Court, Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95834

Please be advised that retired status is a permanent status meaning if you require a license in California again, you will need to reapply for a new license with the Board and meet all current licensure requirements.