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 Licensure and the 
Application Process 

Education 

What are the minimum education requirements 
for licensure? 

• Graduation from a program approved by the Committee 
on Accreditation for Respiratory Care Requirements. 

• An associate degree. 

What happens after I graduate? 

• Request that your college’s admissions and records offce 
send your offcial transcript(s) to the Respiratory Care Board 
(Board). 

• Make sure that your transcripts show that you were awarded 
an associate degree. 

Examination 
Applicants must take and pass all parts of the Registered 
Respiratory Therapist (RRT) Credentialing Examinations, 
which include the Therapist Multiple Choice (TMC) and Clinical 
Simulation Examination (CSE).  These examinations are currently 
administered by the National Board for Respiratory Care 
(NBRC) via a contractual agreement with the Board. 

How do I apply for the examination? 

Applicants schedule their examinations directly with NBRC. 
You can fle online at www.nbrc.org, or you may submit an 
application to the NBRC offce in Olathe, Kansas. 
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The examination process: 

• Currently, the TMC and CSE examinations are administered 
via computer at 16 locations throughout California: 
Bakersfeld, Chino, Fresno, Glendale, Irvine, La Mesa, Long 
Beach, Modesto, Monrovia, Palm Springs, Sacramento, San 
Francisco, San Jose, Santa Maria, Upland, and Van Nuys. 

• Results of the examination are provided the same day. 

• The NBRC electronically submits the examination scores to 
the Board on a weekly basis. 

REMEMBER: Passing the examination and receiving the CRT 
and/or RRT credential(s) does not constitute licensure. You 
must possess a valid work permit or license issued by the Board 
to practice respiratory care in the state of California. 

Filing an Application 
for Licensure 

Where can I obtain an application packet? 

Your school’s program directory may have a supply. If not, you 
can contact the Board at (866) 375-0386. You can also visit the 
Board’s website at www.rcb.ca.gov, click on the “Applicants” tab, 
and download an application and all required forms. 

Applications can be fled as early as 90 days before graduation. 
The Board encourages students to send in their applications as 
early as possible (but not more than 90 days) to allow time to 
process the applications. Early fling helps to ensure that you can 
be issued a work permit prior to graduation. 

2 

http:www.rcb.ca.gov


  

 

 

REMEMBER: 
Before you turn in your application packet, 
make sure that you complete all the 
forms and include the application fee! 
Incomplete packets will be returned to you 
and will delay the process of your application! 
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  REMEMBER: 
You are signing your application under penalty of 
perjury. If you are unsure whether to disclose something 
in your history on your application, call the Board’s 
Enforcement Unit at (866) 375-0386. Most of the time, 
you will be advised to disclose the information rather 
than have it seem like you are withholding information. 
See the In-House Review/Penalty Determination section 
at the back of this booklet for detailed information. 
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Fingerprinting and background checks 

All applicants are subject to background checks. The Board 
requires each applicant to submit fngerprints for state and 
federal processing. For most applicants, the background check 
requirement is satisfed upon receipt of fngerprint clearances 
from the California Department of Justice and the FBI. If an 
applicant discloses a criminal history on his or her application, 
or if a “rap sheet” is received in response to the fngerprint 
submission, the applicant’s fle will be forwarded to the Board’s 
Enforcement Unit. 

Enforcement referrals 

If your application is referred to the Board’s Enforcement Unit, 
you will be asked to provide certifed copies of: 

• Court documents and police reports. 

• Documentation that proves compliance with current 
probation or that probation has been successfully completed. 

• Documentation that proves evidence of rehabilitation 
(the rehabilitation may be in the form of voluntary and/or 
court-ordered programs (Alcoholics Anonymous, Narcotics 
Anonymous, etc.). 

If these records have been destroyed, the Board requires a 
certifed copy of a signed statement on agency letterhead (of 
the agency from which you are requesting documents) attesting 
to the destruction of the records. 
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Work permits 

Work permits allow applicants to work under the 
direct supervision of a licensed Respiratory Care 
Practitioner (RCP). 

“Under direct supervision” means assigned to a licensed 
RCP who is on duty and immediately available in the 
assigned patient care area. 

Any person working with a permit shall identify as a 
“Respiratory Care Practitioner Applicant.” A work permit 
will be issued for a period of 90 days. These permits will 
generally be issued within 10 days from the time the 
Board receives: 

• A completed application. 

• The required fngerprint clearance (if criminal, 
disciplinary, or substance abuse activity exists, the 
Enforcement Unit must determine that a work permit 
may be issued). 

• Verifcation of graduation or certifcation of upcoming 
graduation by the school’s program director. 

Work permits are issued for a 90-day period to allow 
applicants suffcient time to take their examinations and 
request their offcial transcripts be sent to the Board. The 
90-day period may be used by applicants with criminal 
backgrounds to request and submit certifed documents 
so that applications can be approved prior to graduation. 
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REMEMBER: Work permits are not extended except in 
extremely rare situations. Work permits may be rescinded 
if the Board receives information that you failed your 
examination, or receives information indicating that you 
have a criminal history that you failed to disclose on 
your application. 

Ethics course requirement 

All applicants must successfully complete a three-hour, 
Board-approved law and professional ethics course prior 
to licensure. 

The course covers the following subject areas: 

• Obligations of licensed RCPs to patients under 
their care. 

• Acts that jeopardize licensure and licensure status. 

• Responsibilities of RCPs to report illegal activities 
occurring in the workplace. 

Applicants must provide the Board with a copy of a 
certifcate verifying successful completion of the course 
prior to licensure. Please visit the Board’s website for 
links to the approved courses. 
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Initial licensure 
Once the Board receives all required documentation, you will be 
issued your RCP license. Initial licenses are issued for a period 
of 13-24 months depending upon the issuing month of the 
license and the applicant’s birth month. You will be required to 
complete 15 hours of continuing education (CE) the frst time 
you renew. 

After your initial license expires 

• You must renew your license every two years to maintain an 
active status. 

• You must complete 30 hours of continuing education to hold 
an active license. 

• If you allow your license to expire, you will have three years 
from the expiration date to renew. If you do not renew, the 
license is cancelled and cannot be renewed or reinstated. 
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In-house review/ 
penalty determination 
To promote cost effectiveness and ensure the availability of 
funds to prosecute high priority complaints, the Board adopted 
the following guidelines for staff in reviewing criminal history 
for applicants and licensees on Feb. 22, 2002.  

These are in-house guidelines and do not preclude the Board 
from imposing a different form of discipline. The goal of the 
in-house review program is to reduce the costs of the Board’s 
enforcement function by providing for proposed discipline with 
a minimal amount of investigation, staff, attorney, and judicial 
resources, while at the same time carrying out the mission of 
the Board. 

Violation types 

• FRAUD—including welfare and other government 
fraud and misrepresentation and conspiracy to commit 
fraud. 

• THEFT—including petty theft, receiving stolen property 
and trespass. 

• ALCOHOL—including DUI, reckless driving, public 
intoxication, and other use in violation of law.  

• DRUGS—including illegal use, possession, and 
possession for sale. 

• BODILY INJURY—including domestic violence, assault, 
battery, and attempted battery. 
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Only the above related offenses qualify for in-house review 
and determination of penalty as long as no other disqualifying 
factors or extenuating circumstances are present. To qualify 
for in-house review and determination of penalty, the following 
criteria must be met for the particular offense or applicant: 

1. Violations (with the exception of drug offense) must be 
misdemeanors. 

2. A child must not be the victim of the offense.  

3. The violation must not have occurred during 
employment as a health care worker.  

4. Bodily injury resulting from the offense must not 
be to an unknowing victim, innocent bystander, or 
defenseless person.  

5. Bodily injury resulting from the offense must not have 
been the result of premeditation. 

6. The offense must not have been extremely violent 
in nature, and must not have involved harassment or 
stalking. 

7. Felony drug or alcohol offenses may qualify for in-
house review and determination of penalty.  

Where staff is in doubt as to the propriety of in-house review, 
the issues presented and the suggested discipline are to be 
addressed pursuant to previously established enforcement 
processes. Cases not qualifed for this review will be reviewed 
individually and on a case-by-case basis for suggested 
discipline. 

(Continued on next page) 
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Applicant penalty determination guidelines 

No. Case type 
Proposed 
resolution 

A-1 One violation older than two years from the date 
the application is received, excluding drugs 

Strong warning letter 

A-2 Two violations older than fve years from the date 
the application is received, excluding drugs 

Strong warning letter 

A-3 Any violation that does not meet the 
qualifcations in numbers A1-A2 

Citation and fne or 
probation 

A-4 Multiple violations that show patterned behavior 
and at least two violations showing that patterned 
behavior must have occurred within three years 
from the date that application for licensure is 
received 

Denial 

A-5 Perjury on any Respiratory Care Board form that 
conceals any violation or would in any way beneft 
the applicant 

Citation and fne, 
probation, or denial 

A single incident or occurrence represents one violation. 

License penalty determination guidelines 

No. Case type 
Proposed 
resolution 

L-1 One violation (within seven years), excluding 
drugs 

Cite and fne 

L-2 One violation for drug use/possession within 
seven years 

Probation (possible 
cite and fne) 

L-3 Two or more violations within seven years Probation, 
revocation, or 
possible cite and fne 

L-4 Multiple violations (generally three or more) 
that show patterned behavior and at least two 
violations showing that patterned behavior must 
have occurred within the last fve years 

Revocation 
(minimal possibility 
of probation) 

L-5 Perjury on any Respiratory Care Board form that 
conceals any violation or would in any way beneft 
the licensee 

Citation and 
fne—$1,000 for frst 
offense, $2,500 
thereafter plus any 
other appropriate 
discipline 
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Still have questions? 

Contact us! 
Respiratory Care Board 
3750 Rosin Court, Suite 100 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

Tel: (916) 999-2190 
Toll-free: (866) 375-0386 
Fax: (916) 263-7311 

Website: www.rcb.ca.gov 
email: rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov 

http://www.rcb.ca.gov
mailto:rcbinfo%40dca.ca.gov?subject=
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